Welcome to the MMU "Technology FAQ" blog. Use the search bar to look for answers to Frequently Asked Questions.

eMail eric.hall@cesuvt.org with questions or suggestions for this blog.

Sunday, September 25, 2011

Google Calendars

Google Calendars allow you to view multiple calendars in one "view." You can hide or show each calendar by clicking on it's name in the left sidebar: if it is white it will be hidden, if it is colored then events will be showing in that color.

You can create as many personal calendars as you wish (eg. for different types of events), and you can also add shared calendars to your view in the "other calendars" list:

1) At the bottom of "other calendars" click Add and choose "Add by URL"

2) Paste in the URL of the calendar you wish to add, then "Add Calendar." The URL of a shared calendar needs to be generated or emailed by the calendar owner.

3) Calendar owners can share their calendars by adding individuals or staff groups to the calendar, or even making it public. To share a link, click on "Sharing," then "Calendar Details" (upper left). Scroll down to "Calendar Address" and click on iCal to copy the address.

4) Calendars can easily be embedded in Google Sites as well.

For "TBPS Staff Events" the URL is:

http://www.google.com/calendar/ical/wdsdvt.net_4toe8ei718lpk7195o9tfu61lo%40group.calendar.google.com/public/basic.ics

For "CBMS Staff Events" the URL is:

http://www.google.com/calendar/ical/wdsdvt.net_3nsq4p45bduejapkpejece5qi0%40group.calendar.google.com/public/basic.ics

URLs for School Events and Building Use are located at the bottom of those pages on our web sites.

Monday, September 12, 2011

Why Does "Sent Mail" seem to disappear?

I have been doing some research on this phenomenon and will try to clarify: The good news is that everything remains in your account unless you empty your trash, and since there are no storage limits or concerns I recommend AGAINST emptying your gMail Trash. Here's why:

1) When you "Reply" to a message, your reply becomes part of a "conversation." You may have noticed that back-and-forth messages are displayed as one item with the replies "stacked" like notecards

2) If you "Label" a message (like moving it to a folder), any reply you make will stay in Sent Mail and any replies you receive will come to your Inbox. It is a good idea to label conversations that you may need to reference later rather than deleting them.

3) If you delete a message that is part of a conversation, the entire conversation moves to your Trash, including your Reply!

4) If you wish to save your reply in "Sent" but delete the original message, scroll up to the original message after you reply and click the down-arrow next to 'Reply," then choose "Delete This Message" instead of using the Delete button. Your reply will be in Sent Mail and the original will be in Trash.

For those of you looking for sent messages, look in (or search) your Trash!

When in doubt, clicking the down arrow next to "# more" (in the left column) will show you a label named "All Mail." Click on that to see EVERYTHING in your account, and search for what you are looking for.

Keep in mind that all email that goes in or out of our system is archived at the system level, so we can retrieve "critical" messages if you can't find them in your own account.